Top Banner HAGUE APPEAL for PEACE   
Home About Us GCPE HAP Resources Network History/Archives
History > Conference Speeches

The Hague Appeal for Peace Conference was honored by the presence and voices of many Nobel Peace Prize Laureates, famous leaders and moral authorities from around the world. These speakers lent their support to the efforts of civil society organizations and individuals in the struggle for peace and justice. These speakers were joined by youths, grassroots activists, women and civil society leaders to ensure that a balanced message was conveyed in every meeting, workshop and plenary during the conference.

To read the full text of the speeches given at the Opening and Closing Plenaries, click on the names below.

Opening Plenary, May 12, 1999

  1. Inonge Mbikusita Lewanika, President of the Federation of African Women's Peace Networks
  2. Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, General Secretary of the National League for Democracy, Burma, and Nobel Laureate, 1991
  3. Cora Weiss, President of the Hague Appeal for Peace
  4. Jozias van Aartsen, Minister of Foreign Affairs, The Netherlands
  5. Lucia Bushla, United Nations of Youth
  6. Pierre Sané, Secretary General of Amnesty International
  7. Lena Hjelm-Wallen, Deputy Prime Minister of Sweden
  8. Olara A. Otunnu, Special Representative of the Secretary General for Children and Armed Conflict
  9. David Andrews, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ireland
  10. José Ramos Horta, Nobel Laureate 1996
  11. Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Nobel Laureate 1984
  12. Rigoberta Menchú Tum, Nobel Laureate 1992
  13. Mary Wynne Ashford, Co-President of the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
  14. Federico Mayor Zaragoza, Director General of UNESCO
  15. Carol Bellamy, Executive Director of the United Nations Children's Fund
  16. Judy Collins, UNICEF's Special Representative for the Performing Arts
  17. Farlis Fanit Calle Guerrero, The Children's Movement for Peace, Colombia
  18. Susan Wright, An Expert on Biological Weapons and Biological Disarmament
  19. Sir Peter Ustinov, President of the World Federalist Movement
  20. Arundhati Roy, Author, Anti-Nuclear and Anti-War Activist
Closing Plenary, May 15, 1999
  1. William R. Pace, Secretary General of the Hague Appeal for Peace
  2. Kofi Annan, Secretary General of the United Nations
  3. Song Kosal, 13 Year-old Landmine Survivor from Cambodia
  4. Jody Williams, Co-Coordinator of the International Campaign to Ban Land Mines, Nobel Laureate 1997
  5. Eugenia Piza-Lopez, Director of the International Action Network on Small Arms
  6. Maj Britt Theorin, President of the International Peace Bureau, Member of the European Parliament
  7. Sheikh Hasina, Prime Minister of Bangladesh
  8. Yoko Furuyama, Representative from Peace Boat, Japan
  9. Vandana Shiva, Director of the Research Foundation for Science, Technology and Ecology
  10. Karamat Ali, Leader of the Pakistani Peace Movement
  11. Pauline Tangiora, Rongom aiwahine Tribe, Maori Elder, Aotearoa (New Zealand)
  12. Noleen Heyzer, Executive Director of the United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM)
  13. Cheri Honkala, Founder and Executive Director of the Kensington Welfare Rights Union
  14. Wim Kok, Prime Minister of the Netherlands
  15. Bruce Kent, Pax Christi, Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament UK
  16. Mohamed Sacirbey, Ambassador of Bosnia and Herzegovina to the United Nations
  17. Vandy Kanyako, Jr., Founder and Director of Peacelinks, Sierra Leone
  18. Betty Murungi, Director of the Federation of Women Lawyers in Kenya
  19. Youth Presentation of the Hague Agenda for Peace and Justice to UN Secretary General Kofi Annan
  20. Phon van den Biesen, Secretary of the International Association of Lawyers Against Nuclear Arms and Secretary of the Hague Appeal for Peace
  21. H.M. Queen Noor of Jordan
  22. Tijana and Ylber, Youth Representatives from Serbia and Kosovo
  23. Cora Weiss, President of the Hague Appeal for Peace